Sunday, November 20, 2011

Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy by Karen Kingsbury

Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy

Waiting for Morning   A drunk driver...a deadly accident...a dread destroyed.  When Hannah Ryan loses her husband and oldest daughter to a drunk driver, she is consumed with hate and revenge.  Ultimately, it is a kind prosecutor, a wise widow, and her husband's dying words that bring her the peace that will set her free and let her live again.

A Moment of Weakness
   When childhood friends Jade and Tanner reunite as adults, they share their hearts, souls, and dreams of forever--until a fateful decision tears them apart.  Now, nearly a decade later, Jade's unfaithful husband wants to destroy her in a custody battle that is about to send shock waves across the United States.  Only one man can help Jade in her darkest hour.  And only one old woman knows the truth that can set them all free.

Halfway to Forever
   Matt and Hannah...Jade and Tanner--after already surviving much, these couples must now face the greatest struggles of their lives: parental losses and life-threatening illness threaten to derail their faith and sideline their futures.  Can Hannah survive the loss of an adopted daughter?  Will Tanner come through decades of lonliness only to face losing Jade one final time?
Forever Faithful: The Complete TrilogyForever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy by Karen Kingsbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The best part of this book is that it contains the entire trilogy. It's a huge book but complete which addresses my current reading irritation of trilogies. Thank you for that!

Kingsbury sticks with what she does best which is addressing difficult subjects and life circumstances and frames them within a Christian perspective. All three books deal with painful yet realistic challenges that the protagonists then choose their attitudes and where they will place their trust. Book 1 deals with Hannah and the circumstances out of her control that cost her the life of her husband and daughter. The lessons can be applied to anybody impacted by the choices of others - do we choose bitterness or forgiveness? Neither are easy paths although ultimately one will be more rewarding.

Book 2 is on a similar vein in that choices made by ourselves or another will impact our lives. It is about sin and forgiveness along with choice and accountability. It is about trusting the Lord and following His will even when we don't know the path. Wherever He leads us, He will be there. He has promised He will not leave us comfortless. He will come to us.

Book 3 is a revisitation of the previous characters. Because life continues on and they struggle with circumstances out of their control. It is again a message of love and trusting in the Lord. There are no quick fixes and everything is a process.

Kingsbury is a gifted writer and I respect her style and willingness to take on difficult subjects. Occasionally I found the story getting a little cheesy but overall the books are well written, target her audience, and send a positive message.

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

No comments: